I-AIM: Project to support Altai Youth Throat Singers

I-AIM: Indigenous Altai Imagination Momentum

Call for Sponsors to fund

Siberian Altai Youth Throat Singers

Recently I traveled to the Altai Republic where I met six Indigenous young adult Throat Singers.  I had the opportunity to hear them in concert on several occasions and I was intensely moved by their music.  They play traditional instruments and sing in the Altai and Russian language.  They compose some of their songs and instrumentals collectively with the guidance of Svetlana Katynova of Gorno-Altaisk.  I have imagined and written about a way to inspire youth to give creative expression to their inherent gifts that is in alignment with the current Altai Throat Singer project that is beneficial to each musician, their family, their community and to their nation.  It is outlined below:

  1. Create an open safe and supportive space for youth to design activities for creative expression.

2.  Explore ways to discover each person’s inherent gifts.

3.  Promote the creative expression of each person’s inherent gifts.

4.  Reflect on learning experience and support equity in resource allocation.

5.  Define action steps for win-win outcomes

Thus, I have committed myself to organizing a sponsorship call for assisting Indigenous youth in giving expression to their cultural creativity to include Altai Indigenous youth.  Please support this effort with a monthly commitment within your means. My hope is for a cultural initiative to fund Altai Throat Singers through financial stipends for basic needs.  This support will allow them to continue their studies of traditional music at the university level, on track to become professional musicians in support of their traditional culture. I-AIM is an acronym for Indigenous Altai Imagination Momentum. We are soliciting a $75.00 per month stipend for each of the six current Throat Singers to give creative expression of their gifts as singers and musicians.

I will see a similar initiative and cultural exchange event between talented Navajo youth and Altai youth in Window Rock, Arizona someday.  I will solicit the means to bring the Altai youth to the Navajo Nation to schedule four concerts, three on the Navajo and one on the Hopi reservation.  I will see a meeting of Altai and Navajo/Dineh youth musicians perform on Navajo land.  They will see their historical and cultural similarities to support their dream for success in their life time.

Patricia Anne Davis, MA
Whole System Designer, specializing in peacemaking leadership
https://nativeamericanconcepts.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Co-Creative Solutions by Patricia Anne Davis, MA Choctaw-Navajo/Chahta-Dineh. Bookmark the permalink.

About Patricia Anne Davis, MA Choctaw-Navajo/Chahta-Dineh

My English name is Patricia Anne Davis, MA and my ceremonial name is used only for personal ceremony. It translates to "peacemaker" or "one who greets others with peace". I have spent a life time learning and practicing healing knowledge and processes, beginning with my own father, who was a medicine person who made his lifetime priority healing three generations of people in ceremonies. He was my teacher from birth in the home and in ceremonies until his transition in 1983. I earned a BA in Psychology from the University of AZ and an MA in Whole System Design, the language and techniques of creative change, from the Center for Creative Change at the Antioch University in Seattle, WA. I worked in the Health and Human Services profession in every position in the continuum of care for Behavioral Health, Social Services and Mental Health for over 20 years. I am an original writer of "The Beauty Way Curriculum" K-12 Prevention Education for alcohol and other drug recovery and wellness restoration in both the English and Navajo language, published in 1990. Currently, I am in private practice as a Practitioner and Diagnostician and also an International Teacher and Consultant of Navajo/Dineh blessingway ceremonial healing principles that are cross-cultural, inter-generational, inclusive and universal in practical application.

Leave a Reply

